Governor and First Lady Justice announce 15 new counties added to Communities In Schools program


Governor and First Lady Justice announce 15 new counties added to Communities In Schools program
CHARLESTON, WV — Gov. Jim Justice and First Lady Cathy Justice announced today that schools in 15 additional counties across West Virginia are being added to the roster of participants in the state’s Communities In Schools (CIS) program.

A total of 48 schools in Barbour, Boone, Cabell, Doddridge, Hancock, Jefferson, Marion, Mason, Mineral, Monongalia, Ohio, Pocahontas, Putnam, Roane, Tucker, Tyler, Wetzel, Wirt, and Wood counties will be the newest additions to the education initiative.

“Reaching thousands of more students with critical needs in West Virginia is so important,” First Lady Justice said. “It is what we need to do to ensure that they are on the right path to a successful future. Getting them to high school graduation and a plan for success beyond, is the best thing that we can do for them. The earlier we start, the better.”

"I can tell you without any question whatsoever that this program is working," Gov. Justice said. "There are so many heartbreaking stories, from kids living in bad situations to just being hungry. There is a lot of bad stuff out there, but this program is fixing those problems. Communities In Schools is getting children on a pathway to do some amazing stuff and reach their full potential. I am so proud to be part of this program. It is unbelievable."

CIS works to forge community partnerships and bring resources into schools to help remove barriers to student learning with a goal of keeping all students in school and ultimately graduating.

The Governor and First Lady started their CIS statewide initiative in three counties in 2018. Including today’s newly announced additions, the program has now expanded to 53 counties, serving well over 100,000 students in 260 schools across the state.

“Communities In Schools has had a life-changing impact on thousands of students in our state,” State Superintendent of Schools Michele L. Blatt said. “The relationships between site coordinators, schools, students, and families are at the core of this success. These students need supports and structures that help them recover from setbacks and regain the confidence to believe they can do great things. Communities In Schools is essential to opening options and pathways for those needing hope and a vision for their future.”

The new CIS counties/schools announced today are as follows:

Barbour County
  • Kasson Elementary/Middle School
  • Philippi Middle School
  • Philip Barbour High School 
Boone County
  • Madison Elementary School
  • Van Elementary School
  • Sherman High School
Doddridge County
  • Doddridge County Elementary School
  • Doddridge County Middle School
  • Doddridge County High School
Hancock County
  • Weirton Elementary School
  • Weir Middle School
  • Weir High School
Jefferson County
  • T.A. Lowery Elementary School 
  • Wildwood Middle School
  • Jefferson High School 
Marion County
  • Watson Elementary School
  • West Fairmont Middle School
  • Fairmont Senior High School
Mason County
  • Point Pleasant Primary 
  • Leon Elementary School
  • Point Pleasant Intermediate
  • Point Pleasant Junior/Senior High School
Mineral County
  • Keyser Primary School 
  • Keyser Middle School 
  • Keyser High School
Monongalia County
  • Skyview Elementary School
  • Westwood Middle School
  • University High School 
Putnam County
  • Buffalo Elementary School
Roane County
  • Spencer Elementary School
  • Spencer Middle School
  • Roane County High School
Tucker County
  • Davis Thomas Elementary Middle School
  • Tucker Valley Elementary Middle School
  • Tucker County High School
Wetzel County
  • New Martinsville School
  • Paden City Elementary School
  • Paden City High School
  • Magnolia High School
Wirt County
  • Wirt County High School
Wood County
  • Jefferson Elementary Center
  • Van Devender Middle School
  • Parkersburg High School

The new schools in counties already participating in CIS are as follows:

Cabell County
  • Highlawn Elementary School
  • Huntington Middle School
Ohio County
  • Elm Grove Elementary School
Pocahontas County
  • Marlinton Elementary School
Tyler County
  • Tyler Consolidated Middle School

Contact Information

Jordan Damron,; CJ Harvey,


Office of the Governor
State Capitol, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, WV 25305

Office Phone:
304.558.2000 or 1.888.438.2731

Governor's Mansion:

Flag Status

American Flag Full Staff
State Flag Full Staff

Banner Images Courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Commerce

Site Map