Gov. Justice issues State of Preparedness in advance of potential flooding


UPDATED (9:30 p.m. - 2/27/21)

CHARLESTON, WV – After consultation with the National Weather Service, the State of Preparedness will be updated to include 48 counties. 

Click here to view the proclamation​​ 

The 48 counties are Barbour, Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Randolph, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Wayne, Webster, Wirt, Wood, and Wyoming.​

ORIGINAL (8:00 p.m. - 2/27/21)

CHARLESTON, WV – Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Preparedness in advance of potential flooding that may affect West Virginia next week.

This State of Preparedness covers the 50 West Virginia counties currently categorized by the National Weather Service as being under a Flood Watch or a Hazardous Weather Outlook. Certain regions within these counties are currently under a Flood Warning, according to the NWS.

The Governor’s State of Preparedness allows for the mobilization of resources to assist with preparation for any potential flooding or other storm-related damage.

Additionally, the Governor has activated the State Emergency Operations Center and has instructed all State agencies to exercise their appropriate authorities associated with this State of Preparedness.

Gov. Justice stands ready to declare a State of Emergency for all areas that the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management deem necessary.

Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Ohio, and Wetzel counties are not included in the State of Preparedness because the NWS has not issued a flood watch, warning, or advisory in any of these counties. However, additional counties may be added to the State of Preparedness at a later date if deemed necessary.

Contact Information

Jordan Damron,


Office of the Governor
State Capitol, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, WV 25305

Office Phone:
304.558.2000 or 1.888.438.2731

Governor's Mansion:

Flag Status

American Flag Full Staff
State Flag Full Staff

Banner Images Courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Commerce

Site Map