Gov. Justice declares State of Emergency for 18 counties affected by flooding


CHARLESTON, WV – Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Emergency for Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Upshur, and Wayne counties due to heavy rainfall this week that caused significant flooding.

Click here to view the State of Emergency

Heavy rains caused flooding, power outages, and road blockages across all 18 counties.

As part of this State of Emergency, the Governor has directed the West Virginia Emergency Management Division to:
  • Implement the West Virginia Emergency Operations Plan as it relates to flood response.
  • Mobilize appropriate personnel and resources to respond to the emergency.
The State of Emergency will remain in effect for 30 days, unless terminated by subsequent proclamation.

Contact Information

Jordan Damron,


Office of the Governor
State Capitol, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, WV 25305

Office Phone:
304.558.2000 or 1.888.438.2731

Governor's Mansion:

Flag Status

American Flag Full Staff
State Flag Full Staff

Banner Images Courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Commerce

Site Map