Gov. Justice declares State of Emergency for seven counties affected by flooding


CHARLESTON, WV – Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Emergency for Fayette, Greenbrier, Logan, McDowell, Monroe, Raleigh, and Wyoming Counties due to heavy rainfall this week that caused significant local flooding.

Heavy rains of 2-4 inches in a short period of time, coupled with mountain runoff caused stream and river flooding across all seven counties.

The Governor has authorized West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Director Mike Todorovich to support local counties and to use all State resources necessary. The Governor has also directed the West Virginia National Guard to assist. The State Emergency Operations Center has been partially activated and is coordinating with officials in the declaration area to determine their needs.


Contact Information

Jordan Damron,


Office of the Governor
State Capitol, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, WV 25305

Office Phone:
304.558.2000 or 1.888.438.2731

Governor's Mansion:

Flag Status

American Flag Full Staff
State Flag Full Staff

Banner Images Courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Commerce

Site Map