Gov. Justice declares State of Emergency for 8 West Virginia counties


​Heavy rainfall has created high water and flooding conditions in the Eastern Panhandle
CHARLESTON, WV – Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Emergency for 8 West Virginia counties due to heavy rainfall that has caused significant flooding.
Counties included in the State of Emergency at this time are: Jefferson, Berkeley, Morgan, Hampshire, Mineral, Grant, Hardy, and Pendleton.
The Governor has authorized the use of all state assets needed and directed the West Virginia State Police and West Virginia Army National Guard to assist. The State Emergency Operations Center and Morgan County Emergency Operations Center have been activated and are coordinating with officials in the declaration area to determine their needs. Swift water rescue teams from the National Guard and other surrounding areas are currently performing emergency evacuations.​

View the Proclamation Here. 

Contact Information

Butch Antolini,


Office of the Governor
State Capitol, 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, WV 25305

Office Phone:
304.558.2000 or 1.888.438.2731

Governor's Mansion:

Flag Status

American Flag Full Staff
State Flag Full Staff

Banner Images Courtesy of the West Virginia Department of Commerce

Site Map