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West Virginia Strong — The Comeback

Under Gov. Justice’s reopening plan, West Virginia Strong — The Comeback, 
ziplining outfitters are to be allowed to re-open. To do so, Gov. Justice has issued 
the following guidance to mitigate the exposure and spread of COVID-19 among 
employees and customers. These guidelines, in addition to any and all relevant 
guidelines established by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and he West Virginia 
Department of Health and Human Resources (WV DHHR), will help West Virginians 
safely obtain the services provided by such facilities. Businesses are strongly 
encouraged to implement more stringent protocols as they see fit.

Note: Effective as of July 7, 2020, all individuals over the age of 9 are required to 
wear face coverings when in confined, indoor spaces, other than one’s residence or 
while actively engaged in the consumption of food and/or beverage, and when not 
able to adequately social distance from other individuals who do not reside in the 
same household, pursuant to the Governor’s Executive Order 50-20.

Per CDC Guidance, exempt from this requirement are: 

   • children younger than 2 years old, 
   • anyone who has trouble breathing through a face covering, and 
   • persons who are unable to remove the face covering without assistance.
 
As your business reviews and implements these new measures, we encourage you 
to share and discuss them with your employees and your customers. 
Communicating enhanced cleaning and sanitization practices will make workers and 
patrons feel more confident in your business. 

Failure to adhere to these guidelines may result in appropriate enforcement 
measures. All existing laws and guidelines issued by the West Virginia Division of 
Natural Resources remain in effect.
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PATRON GUIDANCE 
o PPE: Per Executive Order 50-20, all individuals over the age of 9 are required to use face coverings 

(masks, bandannas, face shields, etc.) when in confined, indoor spaces, other than one’s residence 
or while actively engaged in the consumption of food and/or beverage, and when not able to 
adequately social distance from other individuals who do not reside in the same household. Patrons 
should be required to use cloth or disposable face coverings when safe and appropriate to do so.

o Self-screening: Encourage all patrons to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms with the following 
questions:
o Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19?
o Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath, or sore throat?
o Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours?
o Have you had new loss of taste or smell?
o Have you had vomiting or diarrhea in the last 24 hours?

o Temperature checks: Patrons are encouraged to take their temperature prior to arriving.
o Sick patrons: Any patron or visitor who exhibits COVID-19 symptoms (i.e., answers yes to any of the 

screening questions or who is running a fever) should seek medical care and/ or COVID-19 testing, 
per CDC guidelines.

o Physical distancing: All patrons must practice proper social distancing, minimum of six (6) feet 
where practical and safe to do so.

o Shared equipment: Patrons are prohibited from sharing equipment with anyone outside their 
immediate group.

OPERATIONAL GUIDANCE 
o Limited group size: Group size cannot exceed six (6) guests for guided experiences. Groups may not

include patrons who do not arrive or reside together.
o Buses: Groups on buses must be spaced six (6) feet apart, and the maximum capacity permitted

on a fifty-five (55) person capacity bus is eighteen (18) guests. Everyone on the bus must wear face
coverings, and all windows must be down. Buses must be properly sanitized after each use.

o Shuttles or utility vehicles: 15-passenger shuttles or UTVs may only be used to transport one
individual group (that is, a group of patrons who arrive or reside together) at a time.  Everyone on
the shuttle or UTV must wear face coverings, and all windows must be down on shuttles. Vehicles
must be properly sanitized after each use.

o Dispersed groups: Outfitters should maximize the distance between groups on guided experiences
and between individuals on non-guided experiences.

o Zipline platforms: Reduce patrons on platforms, as safe and practical to do so.  Groups may not be
combined on platforms or on the courses.

o Reservations: Outfitters must implement an advanced reservation model for all guided experiences.
o Signage: Post extensive signage on health policies, including the following documents in the

workplace to help educate all on COVID-19 best practices:
o CDC: Stop the Spread of Germs
o CDC: COVID-19 Symptoms

o Outdoors: Where possible, all check-out, check-in and payment processing should occur outdoors.
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https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/stop-the-spread-of-germs.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/COVID19-symptoms.pdf
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o Hand sanitizer for patrons: Provide hand sanitizer for use by patrons, including contactless hand
sanitizing stations when available. Hand sanitizer must be available on buses, shuttles, UTVs and
near all equipment stations.

o No entry: Patrons are not permitted to enter or exit facilities except to access restrooms, check-in,
check-out or make a payment. Mark ingress/egress to and from all facilities to establish paths that
mitigate proximity for guests and staff. Access to specialty retail or dining facilities must meet the
previously set forth requirements.

EMPLOYEE SAFETY 
o Screen employees: Screen all employees reporting to work daily for COVID-19 symptoms with the 

following questions:
o Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19?
o Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath, or sore throat? o Have you had a fever in the 

last 48 hours?
o Have you had new loss of taste or smell? o Have you had vomiting or diarrhea in the last 24 

hours?
o Temperature checks: Employees are encouraged to take their temperature prior to leaving for 

work. If their temperature measures over 100 degrees, the employee should notify management 
and not return to work that day and any future days when the temperature is over 100 degrees.

o Sick employees: Direct any employee who exhibits COVID-19 symptoms (i.e., answers yes to
any of the screening questions or who is running a fever) to leave the premises immediately and 
seek medical care and/or COVID-19 testing, per CDC guidelines. Employers should maintain the 
confidentiality of employee health information.

o PPE: Employees must wear proper personal protection equipment (PPE), including cloth face 
coverings, wherever safe and appropriate to do so.

o Social distancing: All employees must practice proper social distancing, minimum of six (6) feet 
where practical and safe to do so. Employees should minimize contact with patrons as practical.

o Tracing: Develop and implement policies and procedures for employee contact tracing following 
employee with a positive COVID-19 test and inform the local health department of such positive 
test and tracing.

o Training: Train all employees on the importance and expectation of increased frequency of 
handwashing, and the use of hand sanitizers with at least 60% alcohol; provide clear instruction to 
avoid touching hands to face.

o Sanitization: Disinfecting wipes and hand sanitizer should be made available on vehicles or shared 
spaces among employees. If disinfecting wipes and hand sanitizer are unavailable, ensure an 
adequate supply of hand soap is available for employees.

o At-risk individuals: Consider special accommodations for employees that are members of a 
vulnerable population, like senior citizens or immunocompromised people, including encouraging 
teleworking to the maximum extent possible among other measures.
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CLEANING & SANITIZATION 
o Cleaning solutions: Cleaning products and protocols shall include EPA-approved disinfectants that

meet CDC requirements for use and effectiveness against viruses, bacteria and other airborne and
bloodborne pathogens.

o Pre-shift equipment cleaning: Employees shall disinfect touch points on all equipment at the
beginning of each shirt and on a regular schedule throughout the day.

o Workplace and equipment cleaning: Implement workplace cleaning and disinfection practices
including sanitizing common surfaces such as rafts, paddles, coolers, bus seats, bus rails, and
personal flotation devices at least every two hours or immediately after each use. For more
information, please refer to the CDC guidelines on disinfecting public spaces.

COMMUNICATION 
o Online media: Outfitters are encouraged to communicate new safety and social distancing

measures to patrons through online mediums, including website, social media and email
communication. Where applicable, questions from patrons are to be answered over the phone or
through an online chat software to reduce face-to-face interaction.

o Install barriers: Where practicable, physical barriers such as partitions or plexiglass at cash registers
or other areas of interaction.

o Use technology: Where practicable, use technological solutions to reduce person-to-person
interaction for reservations and payment.

AMENITIES
o Lodging: All lodging providers must follow Gov. Justice’s most recent guidelines for lodging

providers and campground managers.
o Click here to review lodging guidelines.
o Click here to review camping guidelines.

o Food & beverage services: Onsite restaurants must follow Gov. Justice’s most recent guidelines for
restaurants.
o Click here to review restaurant guidelines.

o Pools & fitness centers:  Onsite pools and fitness centers shall remain closed until further notice.
o Outdoor recreation equipment rentals:  Onsite recreation equipment rentals must follow Gov.

Justice’s most recent guidelines for outdoor recreation outfitters.
o Click here to view outdoor recreation outfitter guidelines.

o Meeting & conference spaces:  Onsite meeting and banquet arrangements shall allow for physical
distancing between guests based on CDC recommendations.  Outfitters providers must also follow
the group gathering limits set forth in Governor’s Justice’s Safer at Home Order.
o Click here to view Safer & Home Order.

o Gift shops: Onsite giftshops must follow Gov. Justice’s most recent guidelines for specialty retail
stores.
o Click here to view specialty retail guidelines.

In addition to the specific guidelines for West Virginia zipline outfitters above, 
businesses and their employees should be mindful of the more general guidance issued for small businesses 

and outdoor recreational outfitters, found at governor.wv.gov

https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2020-04/documents/316485-c_reopeningamerica_guidance_4.19_6pm.pdf
https://governor.wv.gov/Documents/Covid%20Week%204/2020.05.10%20Hotel%20Guidelines_UPDATED.pdf
https://governor.wv.gov/Documents/Covid%20Week%204/2020.05.10%20Campground%20Guidelines.pdf
https://governor.wv.gov/Documents/GUIDELINES-Indoor-Dining-At-Restaurants-Updated.pdf
https://governor.wv.gov/Pages/The-Comeback.aspx
https://governor.wv.gov/Pages/Safer-at-Home.aspx
https://coronavirus.wvgovstatus.com/2020.04.28%20Restaurant%20Guidelines.pdf

